School of Occupational Therapy Students and Faculty Honored by State and National Organizations for Their Contributions to Profession

OT Students, Faculty Recognized By NOTA and AOTA
May 26, 2020

Students and faculty from the Touro University Nevada School of Occupational Therapy were honored with several important awards for the work they’ve accomplished in the occupational therapy profession.

Students Victoria Jo and Christina Carmichael were two of only three students in the state to be awarded with scholarships from the Nevada Occupational Therapy Association (NOTA), a statewide organization that seeks to advance and advocate for the profession and practice of occupational therapy.

“Being selected as a recipient of this scholarship has come at a pivotal time, as many individuals, including myself, are experiencing unforeseen financial hardships brought on by the COVID-19 pandemic,” Carmichael said. “This scholarship is instrumental to supporting my career goal of becoming a competent occupational therapist in many ways.”

Jo said being named as an NOTA scholarship award winner signifies her progression in the field of occupational therapy.

“As an OT student, winning this scholarship embodies the NOTA’s shared investment in my present and future aspirations as a future clinician, and our joint goals for improving local healthcare, both within and outside of OT,” she said. “It also reinforced the benefits of being a member of our local association, including having a local chapter that collectively advocates for our profession throughout continuous changes within healthcare.”

Both students said their involvement with the NOTA allowed them to be more active by volunteering at state and national occupational therapy conferences and participating in occupational therapy advocacy projects throughout Southern Nevada.

“I am passionate about the work of occupational therapy, which helps those who have been impacted by a disease or disability to live their life with purpose and meaning. Having the financial support from the NOTA to pursue this passion is humbling,” Carmichael said.

Furthermore, on a national level, Dr. Robyn Otty, Director of the School of Occupational Therapy, was presented with the “Roster of Fellows” Award, a national recognition from the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) given to practitioners for their dedication and contribution to the profession.

“It is an honor to be recognized on a national forum. I am thankful to my dear colleague, Mary Falscetti OTR/L, FAOTA who nominated me for this award,” Dr. Otty said.

Learn More About Touro Nevada's OT Program