Touro University Nevada Recognizes Employee Achievements During Annual Town Hall Meeting

Employees celebrate work anniversaries and professional achievements during virtual meeting
Jun 11, 2020

Touro University Nevada CEO and Senior Provost Shelley Berkley and Provost, Dr. Ray Alden, provided critical campus updates to faculty and staff; including honoring those who celebrated work anniversaries and professional achievements during a virtual CEO and Provost Town Hall meeting on June 11.

Berkley began the Town Hall by discussing the collective effort of faculty and students to help keep Southern Nevadans safe from COVID-19 as well as the university’s commitment to social justice and the activities taking place to stand against injustice.

She also shared some of the university’s fundraising accomplishments, which include:

Engelstad Family Foundation – $500,000
Optum/Southwest Medical Associates – $150,000
Michael Tang – $500,000
Michael Tang – 200,000 medical-grade and surgical masks
SAMSHA Grant for Suicide Prevention – $300,000
HRSA Grant for Disadvantaged Student Scholarships for the PA Program – $3.25 million ($650,000 per year for five years)

The university has made a significant impact across the Las Vegas Valley, including providing free COVID-19 screenings to the homeless populations; assembling more than 20,000 desperately needed test kits to the Southern Nevada Health District; creating the student-led #MedReady community service website, and more.

Craig Seiden, Vice President for Administration and Chief Financial Officer; and Renee Aschoff, Senior Director of Projects, also provided updates on budget and the Touro Builds project respectively.

After the campus updates were completed, faculty and staff were honored for their work anniversaries and professional accomplishments.

Here are the Touro faculty and staff who completed the Association of College and University Educators (ACUE) “Effective Teaching Practices” Course:

The Touro faculty and staff who received promotions during the 2019-2020 fiscal year are:

Here are the Touro faculty and staff who received advanced degrees and certificates or received other recognition:

Megan De Armond
-Sessa scholarship, from the Beta Phi Mu          
-Completed CopyrightX program

Rhone D’Errico
-Master in Psychopharmacology

Linda Frasier
-Published article “Dementia-Friendly Training to Promote Confidence in Occupational Therapy Service Delivery” 

Don Havins
-Secretary of the American College of Legal Medicine           
-Distinguished Physician of the Year Award by NMSA

Patrick Leytham
-Board Certification in Behavior Analyst/Licensed Behavior Analyst

Shannon Martin
-Academic Leadership Institute from the AOTA
-Advanced Board Certification in Geriatrics

Darlina Manthei
-Board Certification in Anti-Aging and Regenerative Medicine
-Fellow, Anti-Aging Metabolic Medicine

James McKivigan
-Completed the Henderson Leadership program

Manognya Murukutla
-Doctor of Philosophy, Educational Psychology

Robyn Otty
-Roster of Fellows Award from the AOTA

Gena Powell
-MBA, Human Resources

Mindy Renfro
-Executive Certificate, Home Modification Program

Johnny Rider
-Summer Doctoral Research Fellowship from UNLV
-A fellowship at the UW Medicine Multiple Sclerosis Center in Seattle
-Co-authored “Empowering Homeless Youth Through Engagement” in Elite Healthcare

Patricia Strobehn
-Certified Emergency Nurse Practitioner
-Jamie Sue Coleman Legacy Scholarship from the NNF

The Touro faculty and staff who celebrated their five-year anniversary with the university are:

Here are the Touro faculty and staff who celebrated their 10-year anniversary with the university:

The Touro faculty and staff who celebrated their 15-year anniversary with the university are: